Trying to understand the Current vs Known message

Hi, I’m using the JVM client, and I’ve created a index with a Projection, then I create a Persistent Subscription and subscribe to this index.

If I start one subscriber then the messages are counted OK, if I turn it Down, then send more messages, turn it up it, it catches up with the messages, but the Current counter does not increment, so, to be sure I started another subscriber and in fact it did not receive those messages not counted…So I don’t realize what is the meaning of these counters.

If I had two subscriber for the same subscription in round robin, as soon as messages start been dispatched, the divergence between Known and Current begins! really don’t understand what is actually happening

Hi,

I have the same issue .Net client.

Is there any explanation about this ?

Cordialement,

Olivier

Can you give a bit more context about your problem? The original issue is rather vague.

Sure, I got a persistent subscription over a system projection ($et-).

My consumer get well the events from the subscription, and manually acknowledge them.

subscription.Acknowledge(resolvedEvent.OriginalEvent.EventId);

``

If I start/stop my consumer it get only newly post events.

But in ES UI, Current value is not updated, and the gap between Known and Current is growing.

Status is red with the number of message in the gap.

It can be refreshed when restarting the subscription(I do an update on it) .

Then If I start the consumer I will get the previous number of message that were in the previous gap starting from the end pf the stream(even though they were already acknowledge)

I try the subscription.Stop(timeout) on SubscriptionDropped as I saw in other post.

subscription.Stop(TimeSpan.FromSeconds(5));

``

I limit to only one subscriber with a Dispatch to Single strategy.

It’s my first persistent subscription:)

I’m not sure my understanding is good and what I’m missing,

Thanks for your time.