Some architectural questions

Hi. I just started to look at event sourcing a few days ago, and decided to make a small project using it to test out the different technologies. After watching a good few talks on the subject, and reading some of the information available, I think the overall design of the system I’m planning to make is starting to take somewhat of a shape in my head, but I thought I’d ask about it here since I’m new to all of this and it might be a completely wrong approach.

The system I’m planning can be considered to be a blog-like system consisting of posts posted in categories and a user database. Now what I’ve started thinking about is the fact that you can have different read “systems” for your data, which is somewhat intriguing I think, so I was thinking of having a service that dealt with login and another one that dealt with the “blog” posts.

Here are my thoughts so far:

2 (or more) write services. One for the registration/manipulation of users, and another one for categories and posts. These do business logic, and optimistic validation against the read store (like checking if email is already in use) and then simply write to the event store.

1 login service. This subscribes to the event store and builds up an in-memory user database. Considering there shouldn’t be too many users, in memory should be fine. This service implements SSO, as well as some simple APIs for the write service to check if an email is in use etc.

1 static content generator. I’m thinking similar to how GitHub pages work, I can just subscribe to posts in the event store, and generate static content for them, then put it behind a simple nginx server or similar.