Persistent Subscription Limits

I’m new to EventStore and have been playing around with some features, mainly persistent subscriptions.

I’ve been experimenting with creating large numbers of persistent subscriptions - I have a figure of 20,000 in mind. I’m experimenting with this feature to explore server-side check-pointing for stream consumers (removing the need for clients to do this themselves). I am mainly experimenting with creation of subscription groups, rather than using them at this stage. What I’ve found so far is that maintenance of the persistentSubscriptionConfig stream is a limiting performance factor. Every time a persistent subscription is created a snapshot of the configurations for all subscriptions is saved to the stream (I believe this stream is read from the tail when ES starts up to get the system configuration for persistent subscriptions). As large numbers are created this process gets slower and slower.

Just wanted to know if I’m barking up the wrong tree, and trying to create far more subscriptions than is sensible. Have been looking at ways of optimizing things.

Thanks, Tim.

It was never intended to have 20,000 concurrent subscriptions. Maybe
you can discuss your use case a bit?

Hi Greg,

This is probably a cruel and unusual use of Event Store, but experimenting with different technologies and designs.

The use case I’m playing with is command distribution to processing nodes (aggregates). The basic idea is to create streams per aggregate and then select a node and give it the stream details so it can start processing it. The persistent stream comes into play as a way of check-pointing where a stream has been processed up until so that the stream can be moved to a different process - a rebalancing and failover algorithm. The large number represents a large number of aggregates. The message rate per aggregate would be low, and they would not all be processing concurrently.

Just playing with persistent subscriptions for now.

Thanks.