Is the Event Store more disk IOPS, CPU or RAM intensive?

Hi

I am new to Event Store, currently my team is planning to set up Event Store cluster for a project, and I have some questions related to the machines.

• Is the Event Store more disk IOPS, CPU or RAM intensive? why?
  • Do I need physical servers or virtual servers?
    Thanks.

normally iops.
physical servers are normally better though it works with virtualized servers.

just to clarify on #1 it also depends on the workload and whether you are running internal projections or not. Under most cases you will fall to an iops in terms of performance.

Thanks for your reply.

Could you please explain more about how does the internal projections have a impact on the Event Store performance?

will it be different if we use a service based projection? ( e.g. the projection based on windows service by EventStore.Client)

Thanks

Best Regards,

Zhengquan Yang

Yes sure, internal projections cause internal cpu use (you can make
very heavy ones as you can imagine, say pricing an option where you
use .5 seconds of cpu per event). This will obviously cause
contention. Most are not this heavy but there is nothing stopping them
from being. A light projection under load will still see the cost of
deserializing json in v8 which will lower performance.

A better question might be what performance are you looking to get?
The kinds of things being discussed are only really important when you
are really putting the system under load.

Greg

I’m also in the same boat as the original poster. I don’t have a stable local set up, so have to use Azure. This will help my remote development also. The project may see a profitability in the year 2017 only.