Event Store as a Messaging Topology - Beginners Question

Hey guys!

I’m new to Event Store but I’ve been scouring the internet for implementation and documentation and I’m loving it so far.

Question though, Event Store seems to be able to take the place of an event message broker. My question is, do most people use Event Store in place of an message broker like Azure Service Bus for example? And how are customers handling their command messages with Event Store? I know that Event Store and a message topology like Azure Service Bus are fundamentally different, but it looks like you can get away with replacing Azure Service Bus with Event Store for most things.

Are customers usually using a persistent subscription to handle their command messaging, or supplementing Event Store with other technologies? Any help would be really appreciated.

People are doing … both.

Both can make sense. What are your expectations? What is throughput? What about latency? How many nodes? Is everything intended to be one-way?

One a side note … this is known as “one way commands” I generally would not use them but instead have the client raising events (terminology/wording difference). The domain becomes a downstream event processor.

Yeah so that was the one use case that looked like it was missing from the product. The reason I was worried that they’re not available here is because commands are usually intended for specific handlers, or you might want a response indicating failure or whatever, and still get the resiliency of dead queues and retries. That’s my impression at least and I know you compensate with specific event streaming patterns but I’m wondering what best practices are in the wild.