Event sourcing basic question

Hi,

I am quite new to event sourcing and I have a general question regarding a use case.

I know this is not specific to Event Store, but I figured I’d found more expertise here :slight_smile:

I currently have a single event stream per aggregate root.

I have two different aggregate roots, say Room and RoomType.

The behavior of a room depends on what RoomType it is. In order to separate both aggregates, The type of a room is just represented as an ID in the Room aggregate.

The RoomTypes can be managed separately and are a different aggregate.

Now consider the following use case:

When a user invalidates a Room type, all Rooms that have that Roomtype should switch to a fallback Room.

I have thought of several approaches, but all of them seem to be problematic:

1. Have an event listener listen for a RoomInvalidated-event, and send a SwitchToFallbackRoomType on all Room-aggregates that have that Room-type.
    How would I do this though? There’s no way to know which aggregates have that Roomtype unless I access my readmodel, which seems a bit strange.
    Even if I were to load all aggregates, there’s no way to load only the aggregates of that type as I can’t load a subset of all streams
  2. When reapplying the RoomTypeChanged-events to the Room aggregate, instead of just applying it, do a check to see whether that RoomType still exists, but then again, how would I know which RoomTypes exist (I’d be in the same situation as 1, but inverted)

How would you solve this?

Several things come to mind.

Business motivation

Why does a user (I presume more of an administrator of the system) invalidate a particular type of room? Do the rooms all of sudden stop being of that type? If so, why is that? It would help if I knew what domain this was in (e.g. hotel room, hospital room, meeting room etc …). You haven’t given me much to go on.

Modeling