duralble storage when, how and why?

Hi,

I’m new to ES, going through the docs I’ve seen that events can be persisted to a backend storage cluster “k/v or column” rather than to disk. If I’m understanding that right it’s done through the manual setup of an event and not as a configuration option. What are some of the reasons/benefits to having a more complicated persistent setup for the storage? Is it to avoid hot backups and centrally archive data somewhere or are there other EventStore specific prod considerations that I’m overlooking?

I’ve not seen any reading on setting this up, or restoring from it in official docs or in blogs. How common is it to have this kind of set up and does it depends on usage? I really don’t fancy managing .chk files, the usage for our production ES instances will quickly have the kitchen sink thrown at it, standard practice here. I want to make sure it’s as durable as possible and we already have a few internal storage clusters.

Thanks

"I'm new to ES, going through the docs I've seen that events can be
persisted to a backend storage cluster "k/v or column" rather than to
disk."

I am unaware of this.

Errr, if I misunderstood then let me know.

“There are many other options available for backing up an Event Store database. For example it is possible to set up a durable subscription that would write all of the events to another storage mechanism such as a key/value or column store. These methods would require a manual set up for restoring back to a cluster group.”

Coupled with: