Deterministic guids for events/commands

Hello,

This maybe a stupid question but I’m pretty new to event sourcing and cqrs but as part of my R&D for my new project I have a question regarding deterministic ID’s for my events and commands.

Up until now I have been using Guid.NewGuid() in C# to just generate random id’s for the events/commands.

After recent reading though it seems that to cover event idempotence using GES I would need to use a deterministic id as well as the expected version.

I already have the expected version implemented and that is working well; with the event ID I have replaced Guid.NewGuid() with this inside my eventstore repo :-

private Guid ToDeterministic(IEvent e)
{
return GuidUtility.Create(Guids.SystemNamespace, $"{typeof(TAggregate).Name}-{e.AggregateId}-{e.Version}");
}

``

The guid utility class is from here: https://code.logos.com/blog/2011/04/generating_a_deterministic_guid.html

Is this the correct way to implement this or have I miss-understood something?

Could/should the guid namespace be the system or should it be more granular e.g, sub-domain/aggregate?

I’m assuming this would apply to commands also?

Thanks in advance,

Rick.

You only need to use deterministic guids if you want to leverage ES's
idempotency to make your API idempotent (and not have clients generate
uuids).

Okay, I’m still a bit confused so apologies as I’m still learning.

So would a new guid work okay with expected version when saving events?

So when it comes to process managers/sagas/etc… making the commands idempotent for these processes would mean making the managers that handle these commands track the commands ‘seen’ internally? Like a simple list of command ids.

I have a potential for commands to be resent because of failures and I don’t want them to be handled again :slight_smile:

Because retrying an event should not generate a new id. Your case you
describe of the command is where deterministic guids (or having client