Deployment best practices

I’m new to event sourced databases.
How I’m used to working with relational databases: you store database schemas in your code repository. You write database migrations when your schema need to change. On deployment the migrations are automatically applied to the database.

But I’m a bit lost how to get a similar workflow with EventStore. Take projections for example. I know that I can store code that is generating projections in my codebase and push into via an API.

So the minimalist deployment setup would automatically push all new projection code and reset the projections. But this would only work if those projections don’t emit new events, so it doesn’t seem like a good idea.

So what do you guys do to deploy code? Just by hand?

The same goes for permissions configuration, stream metadata configuration and so on. Do you store it together with your code base or do you manually deploy it?

Hope my desire is clear: to have the whole application logic stored in code and versioned together with the rest of codebase.

Hi Dmitri,

I’ve found that in an Event Sourced/CQRS world a lot more lives in your services.

I’m not sure how representative this is of everyone else but here’s what we do…

We store eventstore config in a repo and use it to build our ES server nodes using Packer. Everything else lives in our services.

Our read models do the job of projections so we don’t use them - in fact we found they were a bit tricky to work with for the reasons you’ve noted and coupled the DB to the app more tightly than we’d have liked.

We deploy code in docker containers via a build pipeline. No, not by hand, ever :slight_smile:

Hope my desire is clear: to have the whole application logic stored in code and versioned together with the rest of codebase.

Why would you store application logic the database?

Cheers

Adrian

Hi Adrian! Thanks a lot for the answer!

We store eventstore config in a repo