Causality in Eventstore

Hey there,

as I am new to event sourcing, I am comparing different tools.

What I did not get from the documentation:

How do I provide the correct causal order of events in consumption and do not have race conditions?

e.g.

I update a field value multiple times over a certain time, create an event for every change and have many consumers within my subscription group.

What if one consumer is very slow and while it is still processing, the last (and final state) event is processed by a faster instance and then my final value is the one of the slow instance or maybe its retry-follower

Is there any possibility (maybe by design?) to avoid that?

Thanks in advance

Laura

Hi Laura

This really depends on your integration strategy and what you want to achieve. As a general answer I’d say:

Each consumer could pull events from your event provider. Each consumer would need to know their last processed sequence number. Each event therefore gets processed n times where n ist the number of consumers. You will have race conditions if multiple consumers update the same state. You therefore should either implement a mechanism to detect such a condition and react to it when it occures or combine those consumers into a single one to prevent races alltogether.

If you need to have separate consumers you might want to seperate state so that each can operate without interefing the others.

Based on what you wrote I assume that you have multiple consumers updating the same state and invoking different processes. In this case I’d try yo have single consumer that builds the state and invokes the processes afterwards.

Competing consumers can be struggle so it is worth finding the right solution for your scenario :slight_smile:

There are two ids you want to look into which are supported
$correlationId and $causationId will show you including realtime
updating graphs causative paths! See
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DjCV9jQU4AAvwzg.jpg