CatchUp Subscriptions in a (scalable) Microservices Environment

Hello dear community,

I am pretty new to EventStoreDB, and I am excited to learn more about it. In fact, I am proud to cover EventStore in my Master thesis, for which I am going to implement a PoC.

The proof of concept covers, among others, how event sourcing and CQRS can be applied for (an event-driven) microservices architecture.

Let’s suppose we have a Write Microservice and a Read Microservice. The Write Microservice uses an instance of EventStoreDB. The Read Microservice uses an instance of MongoDB. Now, the main question is: What is the optimal approach for projecting events from the Write Microservice to the Read Microservice. For me, there are several options, each with different trade-offs:

1. Message Queues: In literature, you often read about message queues that transport events from the write side to the read side. However, I also read about the out-of-order problem, especially when using multiple instances of the read microservices.

2. CatchUp Subscriptions: The Read Microservice could use a catch-up subscription to project the data from the event store to the read model. However, what if I use several instances of the read microservice (sharing the same database)? The other read microservices would also create their own catch-up subscription, resulting in a lot of network traffic. Furthermore, the out-of-order processing problem also occurs here…

3. A separate “projection process” or microservice (currently my favorite): In this approach, there is another simple process in between the write and read microservice; let’s call it the “projector”. The projector runs one catch-up subscription and saves the position of the last processed event. The projector populates the query database. The main advantage that I see with this approach is that we now can scale the read microservice without any problems, as the projection logic is not part of the read microservice anymore.