Benefits of eventstore projections over the projections written in the application

I am new to the CQRS and event sourcing pattern. Currently, I am working on POC to demonstrate the event sourcing by using Eventstoredb. The primary objective is to check how this can help us to solve some of the technical challenges related to a business requirement.
I have doubts about the projections.
What are the benefits of using the projection feature offered by eventstore over the projections written in the application code? (The application will be listening to the events to maintain materialized views)
Are there any benefits related to the consistency of the views?

The primary usage of the projection feature is to create new streams based on existing one. essentially indexes with the ability to transform data.

In term of consistency, they will be behind as well.

Now in your case it’s seems to be better to have a cacth-up subscriptions & then build the read model in the store of your choice ( mind , this can even be in memory at first ! )

Those are a few examples:

@yves.lorphelin Thank you very much for the clarification, It helped a lot.
It will be great If you can comment on the following queries as well.

The following is my use case.
I have an aggregate. A straem in the event store represent an aggreggate. Whenever it changes its state, an event will be created and saved into eventstore… To get the latest state of the aggregate, I replay all the events and apply them on the aggregate.
Now I want to calculate the average time taken by a given aggregate to change its state from state 1 to state 4 or state 1 to state 2 or state 3 to state 4 etc. This is for generating a report.

Should I use eventstore projections or application projections for this use case? Which one will you suggest?

Note: There will be millions of aggregate. Each aggregate will have at least 5 or 6 state change events.

I have 1 more doubt.