Backups

Greetings and congratulations on the release!

I’m new to the concept of Event Sourcing; it’s however so interesting that I’m about to give it a try; a question that just popped up from one of the guys in my team…

Can you back up the eventStore regularly on a schedule? what’s the recommended desaster recovery/prevention strategy for this type of store?

thanks.

Geo

Sure. The whole db is immutable files.

With the multinode version though just setup warm replicas (aside from hot nodes)

Hi Greg. Have you ever gotten a chance to write blog post about how backup would work, in which order we should backup the files?

Thanks, Slav

We have been adding docs like crazy so we will add it in docs.

An xcopy of all files should work just fine. AFAIK, just make sure to backup checkpoints first and then actual chunks.

Best,

Rinat

Yup. This worked for us.

XCOPY method works reliable ONLY if EventStore is stopped while you taking back. Not just idle, but completely stopped. Otherwise you can end up with a backup that will be refused by EventStore saying that DB is corrupted (there are at least few things that CAN go wrong if you copy files in unfortunate order while something is written into DB). And idle ES doesn’t mean there are no stats events written or projections are not writing anything.

So, if you want to back up DB of live ES, you need to do the following:

1. copy dbdir\writer.chk into backup\truncate.chk

2. copy dbdir\index subfolder into backup\index

3. copy all files in dbdir\ except dbdir\truncate.chk into backup\

This process makes sure that after restoring from backup you’ll end up with correct DB.

you taking backup, obviously :slight_smile:

What about using shadow copy to copy files out? Would that make any difference at all if db is live?

Thanks, Slav

The only issue with a straight xcopy is you can get an extra chunk and
would have to delete it. We are working on this (probably an option on
startup like --verify-back-up)