$all feed

Hi,

I am new to eventstore (just started today) and have been playing around with the .NET api.

My scenario is a standard one. I need streams for building aggregates, and a unified stream for replaying events to build the read models.

It seems to me that the $all stream would be well suited for the last part except that it seems to hold a copy of the events of the aggregate streams and not links.

The problem is that when playing around, testing, demoing etc. it would be nice to be able to cleanup the event store to start from scratch, but when I delete Aggregate Streams the corresponding events still exist in the $all stream rendering it invalid for replay. Furthermore the $all stream cannot be deleted or changed

So what should I do ?

Should I build my own unified replay stream i.e. always writing events twice once to an aggregate stream and once to a unified stream, or should I just delete the entire EventStore Node when cleanup is needed (I guess that would be preferable ?! But can it be done from the .NET API ?)

Can you describe your app? messages/second, # of projections, etc?

Hi Greg,

Well. It is kind of hard to say since it does not exist yet. The probable amount of users will be 20.000 - and the app will be more read heavy. So I would guess 100 pr. second at peak, but normally 0-10.

We do not plan to use the EventStore Javascript projections at all, but that might change if you could send me links to some great demo applications of them (since I am totally new to EventStore I have not seen their value yet)

Our readmodel will be built with .NET handlers - we have done it this way in a similar app, but used a relationel database as EventStore.

Anyway - my questions can be boilt down to this:

1. Can I delete the $all stream at all via an API call ? E.g. by deleting the EventStore “Node” if that is the correct term.

2. If not will it be advisable to built the Unified / Combined EventStream myself.