AggregateID / Aggregate for Event Stream

Hi
Recently I started studying DDD and Event Sourcing.
However I am bit confused while creating a stream in event store.

As an aggregate instance encompasses a transnational boundary, sometimes I feel having a stream for an individual aggregate instance with aggregate id would be good. But then creating lot of streams in the process pose a dilemma in my mind. I feel I might end up creating clutters in the store.
So not sure whether just one stream for one aggregate is a good option.

If we create a stream with aggregate id that means we need to have a subscription against each stream.
That also increase the number of subscriptions in Event Store.

Another point is if we have multiple listeners to the event, is catch up subscriptions the way to go?

I am looking forward to suggestion on how everyone think about it. I appreciate your help.

A stream per aggregate is a common pattern so it’s a good option. You don’t have to subscribe to each stream individually. More often it will make sense to just subscribe to the $all stream and filter out the events that you care about.

Hi Mat,

Thanks for the reply.

You mean one stream per aggregate instance. So if I have five books of aggregate Book, I will have five different streams for that catering every books instance.

One more thing if I can make my projections subscribe to each streams that are created, I think it can help me handling the set of events pertinent to that aggregate instance only. I don’t have to deal with other events, right ? will that pose any problem if I implement that way.

Why would you need to subscribe to each aggregate stream? There’s rarely a need to process events from a single aggregate instance only.

Hi,

If I have a subscriber for that aggregate stream only, it will get events only when an event written to it. It doesn’t have to bother about events written on other stream for other aggregate instance.