Advice for offline mobile client application

Hi everyone,

I am new to event sourcing, although I have been a professional developer for about 6 years, mainly Xamarin mobile apps for Droid and iOS. I am familiar with hooking into APIs which drive the apps I work on, but have limited back end experience.

I am working on a project which I think can really benefit from using event sourcing and it is going well so far. I have been reading a lot and watching tonnes of presentations by Greg and others and I have (I think) a decent grasp of what I want to achieve and how I am going to do it for the most part.

I think occasionally connected mobile clients are particularly complex domain to apply this in for my first go at ES or CQRS, so I am finding it challenging, but it is too good an opportunity to pass up and also it is a dry run for later client facing work.

I would like some advice on one element in particular, if possible. I will try to explain without going into too much detail. Sorry if it is a bit long winded.

Background

•   A group of people will be invited to a project by a project admin.

•   They will be given geographically-based tasks (Go to these places, do these things).

•   Whilst in the field, they will need to work offline, collecting positional data and augmenting it with their observations.

•   When they come back online they need to be able to sync their data back to the server for the project admin to analyse.

I have taken my lead from Greg’s talk here:

https://skillsmatter.com/skillscasts/1980-cqrs-not-just-for-server-systems

I currently have ES up and running locally and I am pushing / pulling to it directly over http from the app for the time being.

The idea is that ultimately I will

•   Pull all unseen events from the server to the client on login / launch (Using EventStore as the master book of record)

•   Keep a copy of the domain logic in the client so that I can execute commands offline